Installation

This section explains how to install V2Ray, which includes server installation and client installation. It should be noted that unlike Shadowsocks, V2Ray does not distinguish between server and client versions from the software, which means that V2Ray running on the server and client is the same software, the difference is only the configuration file. Therefore, the installation of V2Ray is the same on the server and the client, but usually, the VPS uses Linux and the PC uses Windows. Therefore, the default server in this chapter is Linux VPS and the client is Windows PC. If your PC is using a Linux operating system, please refer to the server installation in this article; VPS uses Windows, refer to the client installation of this article; if you are using macOS, please study how to install it yourself, after the installation is finished Continue to look down through this section.

There are a lot of commands in this article that starts with sudo and represent running with administrator privileges. If you are using the root account to execute the commands in the text, you don't need to type sudo.


Time correction

For V2Ray, its verification method includes time. Even if there is no problem with the configuration, if the time is not correct, you can't connect to the V2Ray server. The server will think that you are an illegal request. So the system time must be correct, as long as the time error is within 90 seconds.

For VPS (Linux) you can execute the command date -R to view the time:

$ date -R
Sun, 22 Jan 2017 10:10:36 -0500

-0500 in the output indicates that the time zone is West 5, and if converted to East 8 time, it is 2017-01-22 23:10:36.

If the time is not accurate, you can use date --set to modify the time:

$ sudo date --set="2017-01-22 16:16:23"
Sun 22 Jan 16:16:23 GMT 2017

If your server architecture is OpenVZ, then the above command may not be able to modify the time. Directly send a work order to contact the VPS provider's customer service. It means that the service you are running on the VPS has time requirements and they are required to provide feasible. The method of modifying the system time.

The time calibration of the VPS is followed by a personal computer.

Whether it's a VPS or a personal computer, the time zone doesn't matter, because V2Ray automatically converts the time zone, but the time must be accurate.


Install on servers

Installing by scripts

In the Linux operating system, V2Ray is installed in three ways: script installation, manual installation, and compilation. You can choose one of them. This guide only provides the method of using script to install, and only the script installation is recommended. The script is V2Ray. Officially available. This script can only be used on the Debian series or the Linux operating system that supports Systemd.

** Unless you are farmiliar with Linux or are able to handle problems like command not found on your own, please use a Linux system with Debian 8.x or higher or Ubuntu 16.04 or higher. ** This guide uses the Debian 8.7 system as a demonstration by default.

Firstly, download the install script:

$ wget https://install.direct/go.sh
--2018-03-17 22:49:09--  https://install.direct/go.sh
Resolving install.direct (install.direct)... 104.27.174.71, 104.27.175.71, 2400:cb00:2048:1::681b:af47, ...
Connecting to install.direct (install.direct)|104.27.174.71|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/plain]
Saving to: ‘go.sh’

go.sh                             [ <=>                                                 ]  11.24K  --.-KB/s    in 0.001s  

2018-03-17 22:49:09 (17.2 MB/s) - ‘go.sh’ saved [11510]

Then execute the script to install V2Ray:

$ sudo bash go.sh
Installing curl
Updating software repo
Installing curl
Selecting previously unselected package curl.
(Reading database ... 36028 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../curl_7.38.0-4+deb8u5_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking curl (7.38.0-4+deb8u5) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Setting up curl (7.38.0-4+deb8u5) ...
Installing V2Ray v2.33 on x86_64
Donwloading V2Ray.
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100   608    0   608    0     0   2403      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--  2412
100 2583k  100 2583k    0     0  1229k      0  0:00:02  0:00:02 --:--:-- 1847k
Installing unzip
Installing unzip
Selecting previously unselected package unzip.
(Reading database ... 36035 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../unzip_6.0-16+deb8u3_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking unzip (6.0-16+deb8u3) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.58) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Setting up unzip (6.0-16+deb8u3) ...
Extracting V2Ray package to /tmp/v2ray.
Archive:  /tmp/v2ray/v2ray.zip
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/readme.md  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/systemd/v2ray.service  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/systemv/v2ray  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/v2ray  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/vpoint_socks_vmess.json  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/vpoint_vmess_freedom.json  
PORT:40827
UUID:505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/v2ray.service to /lib/systemd/system/v2ray.service.
V2Ray v2.33 is installed.

Seeing a prompt like following is a successful installation. If the installation unsuccessful script will have a red prompt statement, you should follow the prompts to debug, and then re-execute the script to install V2Ray after debugging. If you don't understand the error message, just use the translation software to translate it.

In the above prompt, a line "PORT:40827" represents the port number 40827, and a line "UUID:505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb" represents the id 505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb. Both of these are randomly generated, so don't worry about hitting someone else.

After installation, start V2Ray with the following command:

$ sudo systemctl start v2ray

After the first installation is complete, V2Ray does not start automatically and you need to manually run the above startup commands. The installation script is executed again on the VPS that has already run V2Ray. The installation script will automatically stop the V2Ray process, upgrade the V2Ray program, and then automatically run V2Ray. The configuration file will not be modified during the upgrade process.

For installation scripts, there are more usages. I won't say much here. You can run bash go.sh -h to see help.

Update V2Ray

On VPS, you can update it by re-executing the installation script. V2Ray will be restarted automatically during the update process, and the configuration file will remain unchanged.

$ sudo bash go.sh

V2Ray's update strategy is a fast iteration, updated weekly (no surprises). The format of the version number is vX.Y.Z, such as v2.44.0. v is the fixed letter v, the first letter of version; X, Y, Z are numbers, X is the big version number, and a large version is updated every year (now v4.YZ, V2Ray has reached the fourth year), Y It is a small version that updates a small version every Friday. Z is the official version and the beta version. Z is 0 for the official version, not 0 for the beta version. For example, v4.7.0 is the official version, v4.7.1 is the beta version, and it is recommended to use only the official version. If you do not specify it manually, the V2Ray installation script will only install the latest official version.

Some attentive friends may notice that V2Ray has just released a new version on Friday and updated the official version the next day or two days. This happened because the official version released on Friday had a serious bug affecting the use of a new version. This situation is annoying, but in order to ensure compatibility, performance optimization, etc., you need to ensure that the version is not too old. Therefore, I recommend updating on Thursday. I chose this day because there are major bugs that have been fixed in the first few days. If the small problem (I don't know), it will not affect the use; and the version number and the latest version. It doesn't matter if you are one or two later.

Install on client

Click here to download the V2Ray Windows archive. If it is a 32-bit system, download v2ray-windows-32.zip. If it is a 64-bit system, download it. V2ray-windows-64.zip (Download slow or unable to download, please consider hanging the existing wall software to download). After downloading and unzipping, there will be the following files:

  • v2ray.exe Run V2Ray program file
  • wv2ray.exe Same as v2ray.exe, the difference is that wv2ray.exe is running in the background, unlike v2ray.exe there will be a window similar to the cmd console. Choose one of v2ray.exe and wv2ray.exe when running V2Ray.
  • config.json V2Ray configuration file, we will configure V2Ray later to modify this file.
  • v2ctl.exe V2Ray tool, has a variety of functions, except for special purposes, usually called by v2ray.exe, users do not care too much
  • geosite.dat domain name file for routing
  • geoip.dat IP file for routing
  • Others Other than the files mentioned above, the others are not necessary files for running V2Ray. For a more detailed explanation, you can see the readme.md file in the doc folder, which can be opened by Notepad or other text editors.

You can actually run V2Ray by double-clicking v2ray.exe (or wv2ray.exe), and V2Ray will read the configuration in config.json to connect to the server.

V2Ray gives all the options to the user, it does not automatically set the system proxy, so you also need to set the proxy in the browser. For example, Firefox (Firefox), click Menu -> Options -> Advanced -> Settings -> Manual Proxy Settings, fill in 127.0.0.1 in SOCKS Host, fill in 1080 in the following port, and then proxy DNS when using SOCKS v5 ( This tick option is called remote DNS in the old version. The operation diagram is as follows:

It should be noted that the SOCKS port of some clients is not 1080, and the actual port needs to check the client's related default settings.

See below diagram for how to configure:

If you are using another browser, please find out how to set up the SOCKS proxy on the Internet.

Last Updated: 5/27/2020, 2:38:01 AM

安装

本节将说明如何安装 V2Ray,内容包含服务器安装和客户端安装。需要注意的是,与 Shadowsocks 不同,从软件上 V2Ray 不区分服务器版和客户端版,也就是说在服务器和客户端运行的 V2Ray 是同一个软件,区别只是配置文件的不同。因此 V2Ray 的安装在服务器和客户端上是一样的,但是通常情况下 VPS 使用的是 Linux 而 PC 使用的是 Windows,因此本章默认服务器为 Linux VPS,客户端为 Windows PC。如果你的 PC 使用的是 Linux 操作系统,那么请参考本文的服务器安装;VPS 使用的是 Windows,参考本文的客户端安装;如果你使用的是 MacOS ,请你自行研究怎么安装吧,安装完了跳过本节继续往下看。

本文中会有不少的命令以 sudo 开头,代表着以管理员权限运行,如果你是用 root 账户执行文中的命令,就不用打 sudo。


时间校准

对于 V2Ray,它的验证方式包含时间,就算是配置没有任何问题,如果时间不正确,也无法连接 V2Ray 服务器的,服务器会认为你这是不合法的请求。所以系统时间一定要正确,只要保证时间误差在90秒之内就没问题。

对于 VPS(Linux) 可以执行命令 date -R 查看时间:

$ date -R
Sun, 22 Jan 2017 10:10:36 -0500

输出结果中的 -0500 代表的是时区为西 5 区,如果转换成东 8 区时间则为 2017-01-22 23:10:36

如果时间不准确,可以使用 date --set 修改时间:

$ sudo date --set="2017-01-22 16:16:23"
Sun 22 Jan 16:16:23 GMT 2017

如果你的服务器架构是 OpenVZ,那么使用上面的命令有可能修改不了时间,直接发工单联系 VPS 提供商的客服吧,就说你在 VPS 上运行的服务对时间有要求,要他们提供可行的修改系统时间的方法。

对 VPS 的时间校准之后接着是个人电脑,如何修改电脑上的时间我想不必我多说了。

无论是 VPS 还是个人电脑,时区是什么无所谓,因为 V2Ray 会自动转换时区,但是时间一定要准确。


服务器安装

脚本安装

在 Linux 操作系统, V2Ray 的安装有脚本安装、手动安装、编译安装 3 种方式,选择其中一种即可,本指南仅提供使用使用脚本安装的方法,并仅推荐使用脚本安装,该脚本由 V2Ray 官方提供。该脚本仅可以在 Debian 系列或者支持 Systemd 的 Linux 操作系统使用。

除非你是大佬,或者能够自行处理类似 command not found 的问题,否则请你使用 Debian 8.x 以上或者 Ubuntu 16.04 以上的 Linux 系统。 本指南默认使用 Debian 8.7 系统作为示范。

首先下载脚本:

$ wget https://install.direct/go.sh
--2018-03-17 22:49:09--  https://install.direct/go.sh
Resolving install.direct (install.direct)... 104.27.174.71, 104.27.175.71, 2400:cb00:2048:1::681b:af47, ...
Connecting to install.direct (install.direct)|104.27.174.71|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/plain]
Saving to: ‘go.sh’

go.sh                             [ <=>                                                 ]  11.24K  --.-KB/s    in 0.001s  

2018-03-17 22:49:09 (17.2 MB/s) - ‘go.sh’ saved [11510]

然后执行脚本安装 V2Ray:

$ sudo bash go.sh
Installing curl
Updating software repo
Installing curl
Selecting previously unselected package curl.
(Reading database ... 36028 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../curl_7.38.0-4+deb8u5_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking curl (7.38.0-4+deb8u5) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Setting up curl (7.38.0-4+deb8u5) ...
Installing V2Ray v2.33 on x86_64
Donwloading V2Ray.
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100   608    0   608    0     0   2403      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--  2412
100 2583k  100 2583k    0     0  1229k      0  0:00:02  0:00:02 --:--:-- 1847k
Installing unzip
Installing unzip
Selecting previously unselected package unzip.
(Reading database ... 36035 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../unzip_6.0-16+deb8u3_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking unzip (6.0-16+deb8u3) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.58) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Setting up unzip (6.0-16+deb8u3) ...
Extracting V2Ray package to /tmp/v2ray.
Archive:  /tmp/v2ray/v2ray.zip
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/readme.md  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/systemd/v2ray.service  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/systemv/v2ray  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/v2ray  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/vpoint_socks_vmess.json  
  inflating: /tmp/v2ray/v2ray-v2.33-linux-64/vpoint_vmess_freedom.json  
PORT:40827
UUID:505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/v2ray.service to /lib/systemd/system/v2ray.service.
V2Ray v2.33 is installed.

看到类似于这样的提示就算安装成功了。如果安装不成功脚本会有红色的提示语句,这个时候你应当按照提示除错,除错后再重新执行一遍脚本安装 V2Ray。对于错误提示如果看不懂,使用翻译软件翻译一下就好。

在上面的提示中,有一行 "PORT:40827" 代表着端口号为 40827,还有一行 "UUID:505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb" 代表着 id 为 505f001d-4aa8-4519-9c54-6b65749ee3fb。这两个都是随机生成的,不用担心跟别人撞上了。

安装完之后,使用以下命令启动 V2Ray:

$ sudo systemctl start v2ray

在首次安装完成之后,V2Ray 不会自动启动,需要手动运行上述启动命令。而在已经运行 V2Ray 的 VPS 上再次执行安装脚本,安装脚本会自动停止 V2Ray 进程,升级 V2Ray 程序,然后自动运行 V2Ray。在升级过程中,配置文件不会被修改。

对于安装脚本,还有更多用法,在此不多说了,可以执行 bash go.sh -h 看帮助。

升级更新

在 VPS,重新执行一遍安装脚本就可以更新了,在更新过程中会自动重启 V2Ray,配置文件保持不变。

$ sudo bash go.sh

V2Ray 的更新策略是快速迭代,每周更新(无意外的情况下)。版本号的格式是 vX.Y.Z,如 v2.44.0。v是固定的字母v,version 的首字母;X、Y、Z都是数字,X是大版本号,每年更新一个大版本(现在是 v4.Y.Z,V2Ray 已经走到了第四个年头),Y 是小版本,每周五更新一个小版本。Z是区分正式版和测试版,Z是0代表着是正式版,不是0说明是测试版。例如,v4.7.0 是正式版,v4.7.1是测试版,建议只使用正式版,不手动指定的情况下V2Ray 的安装脚本也只会安装最新的正式版。

有些细心的朋友可能会注意到有时候周五 V2Ray 刚发布了一个新版本,次日或过两日又更新一个正式版。出现这种情况是因为周五发布的正式版出现了影响使用严重的 BUG,需要立马发布一个新版本。这种情况比较烦,但是为了保证兼容性、性能优化等又需要保证版本不要太老旧。所以我比较建议在周四更新,选这么一个日子是因为有重大的 BUG 肯定在前面几天就已经修复了,小问题(恐怕都不知道有)的话不会影响使用;而且版本号与最新版相比迟那么一两个也没什么关系。

客户端安装

这里下载 V2Ray 的 Windows 压缩包,如果是 32 位系统,下载 v2ray-windows-32.zip,如果是 64 位系统,下载 v2ray-windows-64.zip(下载速度慢或无法下载请考虑挂已有的翻墙软件来下载)。下载并且解压之后会有下面这些文件:

  • v2ray.exe 运行 V2Ray 的程序文件
  • wv2ray.exe 同 v2ray.exe,区别在于wv2ray.exe是后台运行的,不像 v2ray.exe 会有类似于 cmd 控制台的窗口。运行 V2Ray 时从 v2ray.exe 和 wv2ray.exe 中任选一个即可
  • config.json V2Ray 的配置文件,后面我们对 V2Ray 进行配置其实就是修改这个文件
  • v2ctl.exe V2Ray 的工具,有多种功能,除特殊用途外,一般由 v2ray.exe 来调用,用户不用太关心
  • geosite.dat 用于路由的域名文件
  • geoip.dat 用于路由的 IP 文件
  • 其它 除上面的提到文件外,其他的不是运行 V2Ray 的必要文件。更详细的说明可以看 doc 文件夹下的 readme.md 文件,可以通过记事本或其它的文本编辑器打开查看

实际上双击 v2ray.exe (或wv2ray.exe) 就可以运行 V2Ray 了,V2Ray 会读取 config.json 中的配置与服务器连接。默认的配置文件包含 V2Ray 官方服务器的配置,也就是说你可以不自己搭建服务器而直接使用 V2Ray 提供的服务器科学上网。在不修改 config.json 的情况下,双击运行 v2ray.exe,可以直接科学上网(V2Ray 官方服务器已下线)。

V2Ray 将所有选择权交给用户,它不会自动设置系统代理,因此还需要在浏览器里设置代理。以火狐(Firefox)为例,点菜单 -> 选项 -> 高级 -> 设置 -> 手动代理设置,在 SOCKS Host 填上 127.0.0.1,后面的 Port 填 1080,再勾上使用 SOCKS v5 时代理 DNS (这个勾选项在旧的版本里叫做远程 DNS)。操作图见下:

如果使用的是其它的浏览器,请自行在网上搜一下怎么设置 SOCKS 代理。


更新历史

  • 2017-08-06 加点提醒
  • 2017-08-05 使用最新的脚本,脚本依然来自于 V2Ray
  • 2017-10-07 V2Ray 官方服务器已经恢复
  • 2017-12-22 移除官方服务器
  • 2017-12-29 加入 IPFS
  • 2018-04-05 Update
  • 2018-11-11 Update
  • 2019-01-19 Update